A Quick Note About An Interesting Resource Re: Arc of Adoption

As I’ve been doing some reading I came across this report–issued, as you can see, in March 2012.   It’s called “Openess in Adoption:  From Secrecy and Stigma to Knowledge and Connections.”   It’s published by the Evan B. Donaldson Adoption Institute.

I’ve had time to skim most of it and I’m satisfied that it is actually worth sitting down to read before I offer any comments.   But since we’re heading into Passover and I don’t know quite when I’ll have time for that, I thought I’d just link to the report itself for now.  It’s obviously relevant to recent discussions about anonymity and third- party gametes.

I do, however, want to offer one caveat here.  While I think that the history of adoption practices is relevant and enlightening, I think there are very important differences between adoption and ART with third-party gametes.   I don’t mean to explore or expand on those right now, but I do want to be clear about that.   You cannot simply transfer one set of findings to the other context.   The sameness and the difference both warrant discussion.

If I’m not back before Easter, have an excellent Easter or a lovely Passover or just a fine weekend.

One response to “A Quick Note About An Interesting Resource Re: Arc of Adoption

  1. reasons for legal fiction x 2

Leave a Reply

